funnibee

Bringing You Whatever that's Interesting

Keishichou Tokuhanka 007 – Manga Review

Keishichou Tokuhanka 007 – Fuyuki and Kuze

Despite its unpronounceable name, Keishichou Tokuhanka 007 is an amazing manga. The art is beautiful, the plot is great, and most importantly, unlike other shoujo mangas, the main character girl isn’t a useless, back-boneless sap (that’s a word right?) that cries over the main character guy all the time. However, I think it’s not too well-known yet, but hopefully its fan base will pick up, as it is really a brilliant manga.

Okay, so the manga is about a 17-year-old girl Ichikawa Fuyuki who has special ESP powers (I know it sounds cliché, but bear with me, the actual manga is so much better). She’s an orphan who trained at a science research centre in America and comes back to Japan to help out with the police department. Her powers are actually growing throughout the manga and we still don’t know its full extent. But currently, she can touch an object and see its ‘memories’; know what people are thinking with and without touching them; break objects with her mind (ie. break the window); and she is also starting to be able to let Kuze hear her thoughts.

Kuze was one of the top detectives but then got transferred to the Keishichou Tokuhanka 007 section for fighting against a superior. Also, apparently Keishichou Tokuhanka 007 is supposed to be a really funny and stupid name since everyone belonging to that section are all really embarrassed to say it, but I still don’t even know what it stands for…  Anyway, Kuze is really hot (aren’t I shallow?) and he is the one who gets partnered with Fuyuki.

Together the two of them solve cases and around each chapter is a new case. Their relationship gradually grows closer and everyone who sees them think they’re lovers but they are not (yet). The overarching plotline at first, was Kuze’s little sister who was murdered 10-ish years ago and they never found the murderer. So Kuze became a police officer in order to find his sister’s killer and get revenge. I found that storyline kinda boring and was much more interested in the developments between Fuyuki and Kuze so I’m so glad they found the killer in volume 4 or 5. I would have thought they’d never find the killer until the manga finishes, but hey, I’m not complaining.

Kuze and Fuyuki are so cute together that it’s killing me and I can’t wait until they really get together. Kuze is much older than Fuyuki (he’s 26 and she’s 17) so at the moment, both of them have realised their feelings for each other but Kuze’s just waiting for her to get older. Fuyuki is really strong as a character and doesn’t become all whiny once she starts to have feelings for Kuze. So many female protagonists start out strong in the manga, but once they like a guy, they become really insecure and cries all the time. But Fuyuki isn’t like that.

The mangaka Kaji Eiri has a great style and I absolutely adore her mangas. She also created Teikoku Kyoudai which is about two brothers.

Teikoku Kyoudai - Emile and Robert

 I’m currently up to Volume 10 because I read it in Chinese raws. But I know that various manga hosting sites have it as well, although it is only translated in English up to chapter 10. It doesn’t drag at all and there’s no unnecessary angst (actually almost no angst at all), which I love. I can’t wait to finish reading it when it comes out!

Rating: 9/10

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Keishichou Tokuhanka 007 – Manga Review

  1. foraredrose on said:

    Hiya! I’m running low on manga series to read (which is shocking), so I’ll definitely give this a shot! Is this series licensed in the US?

  2. where did find vol 10. i’ve been looking for it but i cant find it.

  3. this seems like an interesting manga. I’ll put it on my to read list.

Leave a comment